It Ain’t All Smoothies and Sports Bras!

One of the things that the current pandemic has caused is a fine line where public fitness gyms are concerned. Some have remained open, with restrictions. Some have chosen to close their doors. I hold no judgement against either side of the coin, but I have to admit that there are pros and cons to the use of a public fitness gym. I’ve held memberships with some gyms; and unfortunate side effect of some of the places I’ve been posted over the years, since some of my work locations haven’t boasted gyms of their own.

I think that at SOME point in the past couple of years, I may have posted about the benefits of using a fitness gym… I honestly can’t remember because after almost 700 posts, they all kind of blend together. But needless to say, there are some definite benefits and advantages to using an actual fitness gym to get in shape as opposed to doing it at home, despite the fact that you CAN do so at home. And although I can’t seem to find the post where I posted the benefits, I decided it might be a good idea to post the down sides. Here are my five top down sides to training in a public fitness gym…

Membership Fees: Although it’s not only expected but required that one pays a monthly fee for the use of a public gym, sometimes those fees can seem a little off the rails. Depending on where you join, the monthly fees can lean a bit on the stupid side. Be sure to shop around and make sure that there’s a decent balance between available resources versus what you’re paying. If you live in a smaller community, you may not have much choice. But if you live in a larger centre, you have the benefit of being able to shop around and find the best value for your dollar;
Contracts: Don’t get me started! This pisses me off! Why do I need to sign a contract to join a gym? Will your building and equipment disappear if I quit your gym? No. So why do you require a fixed commitment, signed on paper from me just to allow me to lift weights for an hour, three or four times a week? What, am I renting the place from you? Can I sleep on the yoga mats at the end of the day? Give me a fuckin’ break…
Crowded Equipment: There’s nothing that quite gets me like a half dozen ‘roided up idiots surrounding the station I need for the day’s current workout. I’m the kind of guy that pre-plans his workouts before he starts, and having a group of douchebags standing at the leg press station, chatting away instead of getting their reps and moving on, ENRAGES ME TO NO END!!! Seriously though, it’s great if you can use your local gym to socialize with your friends, but I’m referring to the batch that are already huge and just hang out because they want to show off;
Other People’s Sweat: No matter how many signs they put up, no matter how many spray bottles are sitting all over the place, you’re bound to lay on a machine that was improperly washed by the previous user. Don’t even get me started on the gym showers and change facilities! I’ve always had the practice of sanitizing the machine BEFORE I hop on, but very few people maintain this practice, so Light knows what funk you may be exposing yourself to! That was a problem before COVID concerns became prominent…
Personal Perspective/Other People’s Judgment: This last one can be somewhat specific to the person, but not everyone feels comfortable stepping into a public place to try and get into shape. And I get that. What makes it worse is when you have some idiots making fun of people TRYING to make a positive change. I’ve seen some heavier set people hopping on a treadmill or elliptical with the intentions of trying to make a better future for themselves only to be discouraged by some nay-sayers who point and make fun of said people. We should grow up and be slightly more evolved at this point.

Honestly, I love using a fitness gym. It usually features multiples weight machines I would never dream of being able to afford on my own, coupled with sauna, shower and spa options that you just don’t get from working out at home. I don’t like paying for it, that’s probably the worst of the top five for me. But using a fitness gym, especially a personal trainer, can help get you on the right track for your fitness goals. ☯

Martial, Martial, Martial…

Once in a while I get a little bored with the status quo of how I do things, which is rather ironic considering I dislike change within my personal life. Which is also odd, since Diabetes and my line of work throw nothing but constant change at me. Look at that, I’m still in the first paragraph and I’ve already started rambling. Anyway, I won’t admit that I sometimes hit a writer’s block and run out of material to write… I WON’T ADMIT IT, SO BACK OFF! Ahem, anyhoo…

I had someone ask me a weird question a few months ago; well before Christmas. Normally, I just answer the question and move on, unless it holds enough material for decent content. But given my current drought… The question was if martial law had anything to with martial arts. Yes. And no. And both. The answer isn’t as simple as either one or both. So, I’ve decided to provide a few simple definitions of all the terms I can think of that include the word “martial.”

Let’s start by defining the word “martial.” According to Dictionary.com, the word martial means relating to war, combat or military life. […] Less commonly, martial can mean warlike or characteristic of a warrior. Now that we’ve clarified that little tidbit, let’s move on to some terms…

Martial Arts: this is the first and most expected definition I’d provide. Martial arts refers to a codified system of training and protocol, typically in the combat and fighting arts. There are different definitions based on the reason why one trains in martial arts. Karate and Judo are examples of empty-hand martial arts. Kendo and Kobudo are examples of weapons-based martial arts;
Martial Artist: in simple terms, this refers to someone who practices the martial arts. On the more complicated side, a martial artists is some one who lives their life according to the martial way, but dedicates their life to the study and practice of whatever style of martial arts they’ve decided to undertake. This is mostly a personal definition, so I’ll include that a practitioner of MMA is NOT a martial artist. maybe a little jaded, but whatevs…
Martial Way: this term translates in Japanese as Budo, and is loosely defined as “way of war.” The martial way refers to the lifestyle and path you choose in life while practicing the martial arts, and not necessarily related to war. I could probably spend some time arguing over this one with some of my cross-styled colleagues, but luckily they aren’t here. Moving on…
Martial Law: since this one is what based the question my friend approached me with, I supposed I should define it, as well. Martial law is defined as a situation where local government and law enforcement personnel are overwhelmed by some critical emergency and surrender control and law enforcement over to military forces, including army and National Guard (depending on where we’re talking about). During martial law, typical municipal, Provincial and Federal (some) laws make way for military authority. Whoever is in direct command of an area’s military is given broad authority to enforce and even make, laws;
Martial Values: I couldn’t find an “official” definition for this bad boy, so I guess I’ll have to dip into my deep well of expertise on this one… (waiting for the sound of everyone to stop laughing). Martial values, in an unofficial way, refers to the values one carries with them during their journey through the martial arts. These can include but are not limited to, respect, honour, dignity, duty and obligation. There are many other values attached to this term, but those are the ones that stand out most prominently for me.

There you have it! A bunch of redundant definitions that y’all will likely forget by tomorrow. Of course, by tomorrow I may have some better content to provide as opposed to a batch of definitions that you could have likely have Googled instead of reading my usual, long-winded drawl. But, hey! They can’t all be winners! Keep reading, folks! ☯

How Do You Like Them Apples?

Once in a while, I’ll hear about something enough to make me look into it. Even when it’s something I have no intention of taking part in, myself. One of these things happens to be apple cider vinegar. I’ve been hearing about this stuff for years and have even had some friends and family recommend that I try it for various reasons, but the “vinegar” aspect has always scared me off. I’m not a big fan of swallowing vinegar. Back home, people would have a nasty habit of sprinkling vinegar on their french fries. It’s usually delicious, until I remember that I’m sprinkling acid on my food. But I digress…

As usual, I’ll take a brief paragraph to point out that I’m not a doctor, dietitian or medical practitioner and everything I point out in my posts are based solely on unsolicited research that I perform myself. One should always consult their health professional before starting on anything new that could adversely or significantly affect their bodies, including workout routines and diets. Now, on to the apple cider vinegar!

I’ve been seeing this stuff advertised everywhere for a number of years now. Most prominently online. You know, those annoying advertisements that pop up when you’re trying to access something on a website or you’re trying to read something? (whistles softly as he remembers his page is ad-supported). I’ve even got some friends back in good ol’ New Brunswick who swear by the stuff. So, what’s the real deal with apple cider vinegar? It popped up again in something I was reading about a week ago, so I decided to look into it.

First, I’ll explain what apple cider vinegar is, since providing definitions is one of my defining characteristics (see what I did there?). Apple cider vinegar is made by fermenting apple juice, which creates the resulting vinegar. It’s actually incredibly low on carbohydrates, making it ideal for Diabetics, but I’ll get to that in a moment. It’s been used for all sorts of food-related functions, but also for household cleaning and hair washing. Although I can’t seem to find a definitive source, the stuff is said to have been first used thousands of years ago.

According to an article posted by HealthLine.com, apple cider vinegar is said to contain “helpful substances” and can kill harmful bacteria. I put “helpful substances” in quotations because apple cider vinegar essentially contains no vitamins, minerals or nutrients in its basic form. But a “substance called mother, which consists of strands of protein, enzymes, and friendly bacteria that give the product a murky appearance,” is what’s generally credited with all the benefits.

The article goes on to explain that apple cider vinegar can help with skin health, can boost the heart health of some animals (not humans) and can help with weight loss. No, it won’t melt fat like some of the infomercials you see online. Effectively, nothing short of liposuction simply removes your body fat. But apple cider vinegar is said to help increase how full you feel, when used in conjunction with your meals. This means that you’ll potentially need to eat less to feel full, which is what ultimately leads to loss of weight. There have been studies linked to this, but no definitive evidence that it genuinely helps.

The aspect I find interesting is that it’s also said to be beneficial for folks who have Type-2 Diabetes. Yes, I totally recognize that I’m Type-1 but I also like to think that I’ve had Diabetes and researched on it enough over the past 38 years that I can occasionally speak to some aspects of Type-2, as well. Besides, the information comes from someone else. So, I’m in the clear. But as some of you may know, Type-2 Diabetes is a condition in which the body’s ability to produce/use insulin and process the body’s glucose is compromised. A marked departure from what causes Type-1 Diabetes. Apple cider vinegar is said to help improve insulin sensitivity by a significant amount.

Because of this, it’s important to be mindful when combining apple cider vinegar with prescriptions that are intended to help do the same, as it can cause dangerous drops in blood glucose. Especially medications that also help to increase insulin sensitivity. It’s also worth pointing out that even folks who don’t have Diabetes can benefit from better insulin absorption.

It’s always interesting to read about a substance that’s not only consumable but also holds so many potential health benefits. Studies are still on the fence about apple cider vinegar’s potential for weight loss, but like everything else in life, it’s up to the consumer as to whether they decide to try it and decide if it work for them or not. ☯

What The F&%k Is Spinning…

It’s no secret that I’m a big fan of changing up the ol’ workout routine whenever I get the chance. In fact, there are very few workout routines that I won’t try at least ONCE, although I’m certain as I get older that eventually there’ll be some exceptions. But I do still enjoy a challenge. This is where spinning comes in. Sometime in the early period of the past ten years, I travelled home to New Brunswick to visit my family. I brought along some fitness gear, since Sensei’s dojo was closed out for the summer but my aunt and uncle managed a local fitness gym that I knew I could frequent.

I was home for a few days, jogging the few kilometres required to reach the gym, paying the five dollar day pass and using the gym for about an hour before heading home. I felt light and easy, and satisfied at the fact that I was maintaining my fitness while on vacation. On the third or fourth day I ran into my aunt, who explained that she ran a spin class three times a week and invited me to join for one of her classes in lieu of going to the gym. She explained that it was a workout using an indoor stationary bike. When I found out how late into the morning it was, I stated I’d hit the gym THEN go to her spin class. She warned me that I’d be unable to do both in the same morning. How right she was…

I didn’t know exactly what to expect. I’d used stationary bikes before, but I obviously preferred the real thing. I walked into an open area with a dozen books lined up and a small group of women stretching their legs and chatting. My aunt approached and introduced me to the group, who all agreed how nice it was to have a man working out with them for a change. I was handed a 10-pound padded rod and told to place it on the front of the bike until it was “needed.” What the hell was going on???

The music started and everyone started peddling. What followed was one of the most intense hours of my life. In the seat, up from the seat, easy peddling, higher-geared peddling, hold the rod, shoulder press the rod, and on and on… I was drenched within minutes and it was a ridiculously brutal workout. It worked basically everything on my body that I could see as well as some muscle groups that I wasn’t aware even existed. It was so good in fact, I joined my aunt’s class as her guest for several more sessions on that visit and subsequent ones.

Spinning has a number of measurable benefits, including increased cardio, weight loss over the long term due to an increased calorie burn, muscle increase and helps to prevent lower back pain. It’s also a low-impact exercise, making it much easier on the knee and joints than running. The articles I’ve read have suggested that an hour of spin class can burn anywhere between 400 to 600 calories, which is not to shabby if you’re trying to burn through enough calories to be in deficit to burn fat.

If you’re looking for something that’s easy on the joints but high on the challenge scale, I highly recommend spin class. The benefits are many, and frankly there are very few downfalls, except whatever membership price you may pay for the class. I was reminded of my experience with spin class a couple of weeks ago when it was brought up during a conversation with one of my friends. Although taking part in an actual spin class may be a bit difficult at the moment, there are ways to access stationary bikes and do your own spin workouts at home. The benefits will be well worth it. ☯

Happy Bodhi Day

When people think of Buddhism, they tend to picture a bald-headed person in loose-fitting robes and beads sitting cross-legged on the ground or floor with their closed and humming softly as they meditate while trying to reach enlightenment. Well first of all, stop peeping through my bedroom window! And while most of that may be correct in a rudimentary sense, there are many observances, traditions and ceremony surrounding Buddhism as a whole. As I’ve explained in a previous post (Oh, You’re THAT Buddhist!), there are different branches and sects of Buddhism. And with those branches come some observances that the Western world refers to as holidays. Today is one of them.

Bodhi Day, otherwise known as the day that Siddhartha Gautama (Buddha) reached enlightenment, is today. Depending on which background you hail from, it can also be observed in early December, although I don’t pretend to understand why. I’m not big on observing holidays. But the December date and today’s date have something to do with one date being the secular holiday and the other one being related to the lunar calendar, causing it to change date with every passing year.

As far as I’m aware from a Zen Buddhist perspective, I’m meant to observe it on December 8th, which is when the observance is meant to be done based on the Gregorian calendar being introduced by the Meiji Restoration in the late 1800’s. I’m writing about it on this day since it’s when I had an open spot in my postings. Of course, I probably could have written this post instead of one about weightlifting as I did, but I digress…

Bodhi Day is observed by Zen Buddhists by staying up overnight the day before and practicing meditation. I can’t say that I’ve been able to practice an overnight meditation in years, as life simply doesn’t allow. But depending on the branch, sect and what country you observe it from, it can also include fasting, chanting, studying the dharma, sharing traditional meals and performing good deeds.

As with most holiday posts, I’ll keep this one short. If any of my readers are interested in learning more about Bodhi Day, there are plenty of Buddhist websites that can provide further and deeper detail. I just wanted to provide a little insight on some of our practices that go beyond meditation. ☯

Is It Ever “Too Late?”

There comes a time in every person’s life when they begin to notice certain physiological changes starting to take place. Oh, we all like to think those changes will never happen. But the reality is that it sneaks up on you as time marches on. And no, I don’t mean puberty. Maybe some of your hair gets a little greyer. Maybe your muscles are bit stiffer and your movements are a little slower. Time makes a fool of no one; we all know these changes are coming, we simply choose not to acknowledge them.

I write this post after waking with severely sore muscles, a cramp in my neck and a need to rock back and forth twice in order to hoist myself out of the bed. I recall a time when I could vault out of bed single-legged when the alarm went off, be showered, dressed and out the door in under ten minutes. Now, if I happen to have slept wrong, I need to sprawl on the couch for the first two hours of my morning before I restore enough circulation to start my day; a benefit that is only possible due to COVID-19 and being at home.

Have I sufficiently bummed you out, yet? I may be exaggerating the facts a bit (although I am starting to show quite a bit of grey) but it’s important to acknowledge that we all get there. There is no magic potion, no fountain of youth and no way to go back and do it all over again. This is why it’s critically important that we take care of ourselves and develop ourselves as best we can, while we can. An idle engine will eventually seize, and the human body is the most complex engine there is.

I’ve often chatted with folks who are no older than I am, about martial arts, my chosen career and how I’ve accomplished these things despite Diabetes and other associated issues in my life. Almost 9 times out of 10, these folks will usually say something along the lines of, “I always wanted to try karate,” or “I always WISHED I’d tried karate.” I use karate as the example, but I’ve had people utter theses sentences for a variety of activities, jobs and fitness aspects, including karate. When I ask why they don’t try it, I always get the same answer: “It’s too late for that, now!”

No. No, it’s not. Unless you’re unfortunate enough to be afflicted with a terminal illness that prevents movement, it’s never to late. A person may not be able to turn back the clock, but there’s nothing stopping a person from making a start from right where they are. In fact, I’ve watched people in their late 40’s and even their 50’s make their way through basic training. I’ve seen people of all age groups, body types, weight categories and backgrounds join karate and do quite well. In some circumstances, it may not necessarily mean that they go on to be an action hero or anything, but there’s nothing stopping them from trying.

The idea is that you can’t allow yourself to become idle. It’s important to take at least twenty minutes a day to stretch, move and get some sunlight. I know the current state of the world has reduced how often we leave the house, but most people can still manage walking outside, taking a drive or simply standing in their back yard and breathing in the fresh air. Physical activity is important. You need to be able to work your body physically, in order to maintain it. You can eat well, but this only provides the fuel. What happens to your car if you keep adding gas to the tank without driving it? Eventually, the gas will overflow, make a bloody mess and the engine will eventually still seize from lack of use.

I always like thinking of my grandparents for this comparison. My grandmother was a sedentary woman. She gave birth and raised seven children and was by no means lazy. But once those children were all grown and out of the house, her life pretty much ground to a halt. She never worked, never exercised and never moved (and no, knitting doesn’t count!). By the time she reached the age my mother is at now, she became hunched over, her body started having serious difficulties and her muscles became slack and useless. She passed away in her 80’s, unable to walk and function.

My grandfather joined the army when he was young and fought on the European front during World War II. He worked as a blacksmith, carpenter and always kept himself moving. When the sun rose, he’d be up and about. By the time retirement came around, he made use of a wheelchair, but he was still using dumbbells and exercising up until the week before he passed away, which was at the age of 95. Physical activity and working his body was a part of his life, which resulted in better mobility and health for longer, as well as almost ten added years of life than my grandmother.

Now, I know what you’re thinking… There’s no way to confirm what the difference may have been. After all, if my grandmother had done everything my grandfather had done, maybe she’d have fared better for longer as well. And there’s no accounting for the differences in inherent physiology, differences in hormones, etc, etc, etc… But that’s exactly the point: she didn’t! It can debated ’til the cows come home, I’m simply offering a true example of how two bodies will differ, based on two different lifestyles.

People often ask me how I’m in such good health, despite having Type-1 Diabetes. In my 40’s, I essentially suffer from none of the typical complications associated with someone who has had my condition for decades. My nervous system is clear, my kidneys are in excellent health, none of my toes have had to be amputated and I keep being told by my doctors that I have the heart of a horse. Now, if only my efforts would start to melt this “dad bod” I seem to have developed…

I’ve been moving, training and working out for as long as I can remember. Although I remember the specific details of how I started on all these different journeys, the images of those memories have started to blur. But I know that if I had never started karate all those years ago, I would still find it within myself to try it now. In my early 40’s, I could still conceivably reach some pretty high levels. The lesson is that it’s never too late.

If you’ve always wanted to try something, try it. Have a sport you want to attempt? Go for it. Have a career you’ve always wanted to have? Work for it. It’s never too late. Want to join karate in your 60’s? Bow and step inside, I’ll teach you! You may have to research what you’re looking to try and take the proper precautions, but there’s no reason you can’t do it. Your body is your engine, and you’re the only one who can keep it running smoothly and clean. Even the most efficient engines only hit their stride once they’ve geared up to increase their momentum. So, you need to get started. Start by getting off the couch. Start by stepping into the dojo/gym/outside. Start. Your personal motivation is what dictates what you’ll try, not how many candles were on your last birthday cake. ☯

You Can Buy A Black Belt At WalMart…

Karate and martial arts in general contain many intricacies, specifics and details surrounding ceremony and respect. Compared to other sports, this is one of the appeals (and hindrances) of training in the martial arts, as most people aren’t aware of them and often don’t know about them. And sometimes, even when they do, they don’t provide the respect that the culture deserves. I’ve written some previous posts about dojo etiquette, which you can read here and here, but it dawns on me that I’ve never really covered off something that’s not only important within martial arts circles, but is a serious disrespect and breach of etiquette when addressing someone in karate: asking about their black belt.

I’ll speak strictly from the karate standpoint, since this is what I’ve been studying my entire life. Training to reach black belt is a false goal. Any traditional karate instructor will usually tell you that the only thing belts are good for, are holding your pants up. In fact, I’ll push it one step further and point out that if you’re in my dojo and you tell me that you’re in karate with the sole purpose of obtaining a black belt, I’ll politely ask you to train elsewhere.

You may be asking, why would I say this? Well, first of all because it would be my dojo and I teach any who want to learn but only those whom I choose to teach. Truthfully, the use of coloured belts or any grading system in Japanese and/or Okinawan martial arts started in the late 1800’s with Judo. Prior to that, either everyone was dressed exactly the same or trained in whatever they might happen to be learning. In the 1880’s, Shotokan Karate was among the first to begin using this coloured belt system as well, and other karate systems followed suit soon thereafter.

But the honest reason I would ask a student who has the goal of achieving black belt to leave my dojo isn’t because they would be an inherently bad student or they wouldn’t work hard. The truth is that although there no truly “bad” reasons for training in karate (except for wanting to harm or suppress others), obtaining a black belt should be an incidental occurrence in your martial journey, not the end goal. In fact, my Sensei has always said that passing your black belt is a student’s way of formally asking their Sensei to teach them karate.

But one of the most disrespectful things a person can do, is ask a black belt ABOUT their black belt. Want to hear some stories about how I got here? No problem. Are you able to acknowledge the FACT that I’m a black belt? Unless you’re colour blind, you should, considering I’ll be wearing a black belt around my waist when you walk into the dojo. The disrespectful part is asking what grade of black belt someone holds, or what degree they have. Generally speaking, there’s really no reason other than unnecessary curiosity to ask someone this.

If I happen to be the head instructor, you’ll be receiving my tutelage regardless of my rank. I’ve seen brown belts open their own dojos. Although it’s pretty uncommon, it isn’t unheard of. But a traditional black belt usually won’t WANT to “brag” about what level they’ve reached and it’s usually considered impolite to ask. It reminds me of an exchange I had with someone a few years ago that went a little something like this:

CuriousGeorge: So, you do karate eh?
Me: That’s right…
CuriousGeorge: How long have you been doing it?
Me: A little over twenty years…
CuriousGeorge: TWENTY YEARS! Wow, you must be a black belt, right?
Me: Umm, well… yeah…
CuriousGeorge: What kind?
Me: Excuse me?
CuriousGeorge: What kind of belt?
Me: Black. I think we just established that…
CuriousGeorge: No, no, I mean what level!
Me: Black! I don’t think we’re understanding each other…
CuriousGeorge: No, I mean what level? What level of black belt are you? There are different levels right? Or degrees, I think?
Me: What does that matter?
CuriousGeorge: Well, I just want to know how high up you are…
Me: I’m a black belt. Anything else is an unimportant and private detail…

In this guy’s defence, despite being presumptuous in assuming that being in karate as long as I had at the time meant I held a black belt, he likely didn’t KNOW that I considered it disrespectful to ask about my rank. This is where the conversation became what many of us like to call a “teachable moment.” I know some people who have trained for decades and have never gone beyond white belt. And there’s nothing wrong with that. Karate and martial arts in general doesn’t REQUIRE you to progress through a ranking system. For some, the simple act of training is all they want/need.

But traditional black belts won’t usually want to brag about rank. You’ll rarely hear one saying, “I’m a 3rd degree black belt,” or “I’m a 5th degree black belt.” As I had indicated earlier, you’ll know I’m a black belt when you walk into the dojo and see me wearing one. To what degree matters very little. And it’s considered a faux pas in the dojo to ask. And karate is almost unique in the sense that I could drop my black belt on the ground and walk away today, and I would continue to retain my knowledge and skills. The belt is just a piece of cloth. So there you have it! A small piece of dojo etiquette that I haven’t covered before that you probably didn’t know. ☯

Couples Who Work Out Together, Get Fit Together

My wife and I started doing a generic workout that I found online, just shortly after New Year’s Day. It’s called the “Army of Two” workout, and it incorporates three different levels of increasing length for six different exercises. I need to give credit where credit is due, since I didn’t create this workout and hold no rights to it. The workout was found on Darebee.com, which is a fantastic website with TONS of different workouts. They’re mostly body weight only, so it makes for easy and simple workouts that you can do just about anywhere. here’s the one my wife and I have been doing:

We just recently did Level II together, which takes roughly half an hour. We use a dumbbell or kettlebell for the “back-to-back sitting twists,” just to add a bit of resistance to the mix. Otherwise, we both enjoy it and it’s a great way to do a simple workout with your spouse or partner. If you’re looking for different workouts to work different areas of your body, or just to throw a bit of variety into your fitness routine, be sure to check out Darebee.com. You won’t be disappointed. ☯

The Unexpected Workout

I was having a conversation with someone a while back about working out and tracking the number of workouts per week I was doing, when an interesting question was asked: “Does sex count as a workout?” For most people, they’d be inclined to automatically say yes. There’s a reason why a couple will often be out of breath and covered in sweat afterwards. Besides perhaps being old and out of shape. Cough, cough… But let’s steer this conversation away from me, shall we?

Once the question was out there, I decided to look into it a bit and I’ve found that there’s a fair amount of conflict about the subject. Some sources will say that it can be a decent workout while other sources say it falls significantly short of the elements required to be considered a worthwhile workout. Of course, sex is a bit like discussing politics. It makes people feel awkward talking about it, despite always having an opinion. Unless you’re on social media, in which case people have NO issue voicing their opinion. But I digress…

The issues surrounding sex and Diabetes is are obvious. You need to plan ahead, ensuring that you have plenty of fast-acting carbohydrates on hand. Communication is also key, since you may have some explaining to do if you’re partner isn’t aware that you have an insulin pump and/or CGM. It may be a bit of a shock seeing a bunch of hardware attached to your body. And for the gents, the unfortunate reality is that you may have to explain why your “little soldier” doesn’t want to respond, as circulatory and neurological issues may hinder arousal.

Now that I’ve made things sufficiently awkward, let’s get on to the actual topic at hand. Can sex be considered a workout? Yes. And no. It’s complicated. And here’s why. According to an article posted by HealthLine.com, “[…] sex burns about 4.2 calories per minute, for men, and 3.1 calories per minute, for women. But with the average sex session under 20 minutes, it’s not exactly a win-win solution.” So you WILL burn calories during sex. It’s impossible not to, really. Any movement of the body burns calories, so something as intense as sex will, as well.

But you’re looking at well under 100 calories for a full hour of sexual intercourse (not including foreplay), which is why it can’t generally be considered a workout. The low caloric burn and short time span that it lasts (sorry fellas, nobody believes you went to pound-town for HOURS) explain why it doesn’t constitute a workout that can be used as an effective means of burning calories or fat. On the flip side, like any fitness expert can easily admit, any calorie burn is better than zero. So when in the boudoir…

Another article, post by Muscle&Fitness‘ online site, agrees with the “better than zero calories” concept, but also states that it couldn’t be considered a workout in the traditional sense. The only way to do that is to extend the act. The article does go on to point out that sex has a number of health benefits that go beyond calorie burn, including increased cardiorespiratory health, increased serotonin levels and improved sleep. The article also indicates that sex can help to relieve anxiety, depression and high blood pressure.

So even if having sex won’t burn as many calories as say, lifting weights or doing cardio, it’s still better than nothing. And even if it doesn’t constitute a workout, you still get to have sex, so why are you complaining? Just make sure to keep an eye on your blood sugars, keep good communication open and rock your partner’s world. Now, get in there! I didn’t hear no bell! ☯

Even If We’re Just Dancin’ In The Dark…šŸŽ¶

I’m usually a pretty big advocate for not taking things for granted, especially in today’s cushy world of electronics, gadgets and comforts that the average household didn’t have, even just 50 years ago. For example, it’s a common assumption that any given household will have working internet. And heaven forbid that it NOT be high speed! But as early as the 1990’s, internet access wasn’t common place in most households and even when it was, you had to ensure a random family member didn’t pick up the phone to gab with their friends when you were 99% done downloading your favourite April Wine song using dial up. Thanks a lot, mom!

My point is, there are certain household resources that we take for granted because they’ve been around forever. Such as electricity. It’s hard to imagine a time when working power wasn’t an option within a household. And of course the power always tends to go out at the very worst of times, such as heavy thunder storms and in the dead of winter, practically always at night. The latter is what we had to deal with yesterday morning when our power was out for over nine hours…

Tea light candles, our only source of heat and light on a frosty morning.

The winds started up on Wednesday evening, a howling precursor of what would soon be coming. We had enjoyed a few days of reasonably mild weather, so I should have assumed a storm would be coming. My wife and I had spent some time on our respective computers once our boys were in bed, and we decided to hit the sack around 11 pm in order to get a decent night’s sleep. Little did we know that sleep would not only be evasive, the weather would go a long way towards being the cause. By midnight, we could hear and feel the house shifting with the heavy winds and blowing snow. At one point, I drifted off to sleep for a brief period, only to be woken in total darkness.

Just to clarify, our house is never totally dark. We have iPads, phones and devices that usually provide some level of ambient light, even in the worst of circumstances. But not this time. this time, the bedroom was pitch black. My wife was also awake, and we discussed the fact that power was out. My phone had a decent charge and an alarm was set, so I wasn’t overly worried about waking up late. And I foolishly assumed that power would be restored within an hour, maybe two. Because that’s what usually happens when you live in a large city. Shame on me for assuming they’d be on the ball…

Despite the howling winds, inclement weather and what sounded like the north side of the house collapsing, I managed to fall asleep at some point and awoke at 6 am with my alarm. Now we’re at yesterday morning. I noticed that it was still pitch black and nothing was powered up. Great. So we’ve been at least six hours without power. This meant quite a number of things. It meant no hot breakfast foods, no coffee and no heat in the house. I grabbed my Cadillac of flashlights, one I had purchased for work. That puppy can light up an entire room when pointed upwards at a ceiling, so I got up and started my morning routine in the dark. Easier said than done.

The first real issue was that the power outage meant that our furnace had not been providing heat to the house for the past six hours and the temperature inside the house was sitting at 16 degrees Celsius (61 Fahrenheit). Just as a comparison, the average walk-in refrigerator sits at 7 to 10 degrees Celsius (45 to 50 Fahrenheit), so it was pretty chill in the Cook household, and not in a fun way. I kept assuming power would be restored anytime, so I started tracking down candles to provide ambient heat and light until it did. Turns out that all I had were the tea lights shown in the photo above.

I started getting Nathan’s school lunch ready, since I had no reason to believe he wouldn’t be attending school. Luckily, making a tuna sandwich, cherry tomatoes and a granola bar require no power and could easily be stuffed into his backpack without issue. Since there was literally no sound in the house, Baby Alex felt the house shift and people moving around and decided to announce his presence with a raucous cry. Both boys were up and confused as to why it was still dark. I had to hold a flashlight while Nathan dressed in the dark while bitching about being cold. Then we came out to the kitchen/dining area.

In the interest of safety, I had my wife and the boys stay in the dining area to prevent injury from wandering about a dark house, then set about lighting candles in the kitchen, dining area and living room. My MacBook Air was still sitting at 100% battery life since it keeps its charge ridiculously long, and I was able to keep the boys entertained with some old episodes of “Gargoyles” that I had on my hard drive. The boys ate a light breakfast of dry Cheerios while they watched cartoons. Except for the dark, it was a manageable morning. I decided to grab a space heater and set it up in the dining area to provide a bit more heat, but my pre-caffeinated brain neglected to realize the heater would need to be plugged in.

When the 8 o’clock hour approached, I got Nathan all dressed for the outside and command-started the family vehicle. There would be no walking in this weather on this morning! We drove the quarter-kilometre to his designated bus stop where we listened to the morning news on the radio and heard reports of felled power lines, damaged homes, light poles collapsing and even a local bank on the south side of the city that had caught on fire. The situation looked pretty grim, despite the storm front being done and the sun starting to come up to a mostly clear horizon.

By 8:15, my wife texted that Nathan’s school bus was still parked at its compound, making it over ten minutes late in picking him up, much less being in our general area. By 8:22, we made the judgement call to make it a snow day and simply bring Nathan home, despite transport notices telling us that school buses were running. I offered to run to the corner and grab hot coffee, since we had no option for it at home. As soon as I was outside our immediate neighbourhood, everything was lit up and businesses were open as usual. Of course. Go figure. I grabbed a couple of Tim Horton’s coffees and started driving home, contemplating how I would entertain two small children without the benefit of light and/or devices.

At 8:35, my wife texted that the school bus was now running and was in our neighbourhood. I replied that we’d go sit at Nathan’s bus stop for a short period and see what came of it. Nathan was thoroughly pissed, as he assumed he would get to spend the day at home. Tough break, kid. If that’s the worst fate you suffer in life, things will be pretty smooth for you. Suck it up. We parked at his bus stop and by about 8:40, our bus came to a stop facing the wrong direction. The bus driver was slightly lost as he was new to our area and the street signs were all covered in sticky snow. I had to take a few minutes to describe where certain streets were, and he explained that our usual bus driver had refused to drive his route that morning. Nice.

I got home with hot coffee to a sleeping infant curled up on my wife’s lap and some daylight starting to make an appearance within the living room. The power popped back on at about 9:20, putting us at a bit longer than nine hours without electricity. It got me thinking about how much we take something common like electricity for granted, and just how much we actually depend on it for the smooth running of our household. It also woke me up to the fact that I need some resources in the event we’re ever caught without power for this long or longer during winter conditions again.

Having emergency candles and more than one bright, fully charged flashlight is an important step. Another is to have a rechargeable charging unit for your cell phone. Even if a cell phone is not a “necessity” per say, having the ability to contact emergency services should it become necessary, is. Warm blankets and even rechargeable heaters can be handy, as well. Luckily, we always have SOME food that doesn’t require cooking that we can lean on, but you want to ensure you have adequate water and food stores in the event you’re without a heat source for longer than you can wait. ☯